Rendang Paste and Sambal Goreng at QFC

I’m always on the look out for ready made foods at local stores for those days when I don’t have the time to create my own from scratch. Or my suitcase stash ran out of the ‘real things’.

Today I was at my local QFC supermarket and found two exciting new items on their shelf. I realize I could find similar items at specialty stores in Bellevue and Seattle, but this is right up the hill. It saves me a 30 minute drive and having to fight for parking plus I can do my regular shopping too.

IMG_20170522_131452Rendang vlees is a wonderful beef dish made by browning beef cubes or short ribs and then slowly simmering them in a spicy paste made from shallots, galangal ginger, onion and other spices mixed with coconut milk. The result is an aromatic sauce and meat that simply melts in your mouth. If I make this from scratch, it is an all day (sometimes two day) process. QFC now carries a Raya Rendang Curry Paste that has very similar ingredients to the recipe I use at home. It is located in the international food section, top shelf in our store. I haven’t tried this product yet because my suitcase stash is still holding out. I’ll update this post when I do.

Just below the rendang packetsIMG_20170522_131545 I spotted Indofood Sambal Goreng mix. I’ve never tried this but I know these words 😉

Sambal is a spicy, chili pepper paste so I’m going out on a limb here that it is a sauce mix for vegetables. I bet it would make an excellent side to your rendang along with some steamed rice. The picture on the packet makes it look like they added chicken for a one pot type meal.

Have you tried these before? I’d love to hear your thoughts on them if they are close to the ‘real thing’ you would get in Holland. And if you can’t find them at your store, there are a few online options as well:

Leave a Reply

